I’m not dead, I was just making zucchini bread.

I know. I haven’t written in almost a year. I think I ran out of things to say. It’s OK if you say that you forgot about me. I probably forgot about you, too. That being said, I have news.

I grew something. A big something. Six or seven pounds, bigger than my last. It’s a zucchini. And it was huge. Sophie likes to go out behind our garage to our raised garden beds and check on her “zokeenies”. And today we found it, buried under the giant fan leaves of our zucchini plants. We had a bunch of little ones, but today, we found the mutha. That below is a quarter of it.

.photo 4

I remember when I was a senior in high school, my mother had this crazy zucchini harvest. Every one was huge, over 2 feet long and heavy. There had to have been 50 of them over the course of the summer. Everywhere I went, my mother sent me with a zucchini. “Hello Mr. & Mrs. Kehoe, here is an enormous zucchini”. “Hello new manager at work. Enjoy”. I hadn’t seen any that size since then. I started to think that maybe I had made up the whole giant squash thing. Until today.

photo 2photo 1

 

Anywho, I didn’t know what to do with this thing, so I cooked some up for dinner with spring onions and shallots, and with the rest, I made zucchini bread. And all I can say is hell yes.

photo 5

 

I never made it before, but I know how to make bread and cake, and its basically a mesh of those two, so I decided to wing it. And I also decided to make a sweet and a savory version. I usually like savory just as well as sweet, especially for things like this, but honsestly, I’m not even going to give you the savory recipe, because it wasn’t as great as this.

 

photo 2

You’re welcome.

SWEET ZUCCHINI BREAD

3 eggs

1 cup olive or canola oil

1 3/4 cups sugar

2 cups grated zucchini (drained)

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

3 cups all-purpose flour

3 teaspoons cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon allspice

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup dried raisins (or craisins or dried fruit or whatever)

 

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Grease and flour two 8×4 inch loaf pans. I used parchment on one loaf and cooking spray and flour for the other. They both worked.

In a large bowl, beat the eggs with a whisk or on a low KitchenAid setting. Mix in oil and sugar, then zucchini and vanilla.

Combine flour, cinnamon, allspice, baking soda, baking powder and salt, as well as nuts, chocolate chips and/or dried fruit, if using.

Stir this into the egg mixture. Divide the batter into prepared pans.

Bake loaves for 45 minutes, plus or minus ten, or until a tester inserted into the center comes out clean. Muffins will bake far more quickly, approximately 20 to 25 minutes.

 

 

 

Leave a comment